Partagez ce LiveCast !

Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur facebook
Facebook

Previous episodes:

EP 21: Morocco & Lesotho Reports

EP 20: South Africa & Lesotho Reports

EP 19: Nigeria & Rwanda Reports

Un dialogue positif pour combattre des résultats négatifs

Les systèmes d’identité numérique sont généralement acceptés comme des outils positifs pour le bien social. Néanmoins, ils peuvent présenter plusieurs dangers et soulever d’importantes préoccupations.

Dans cette série LiveCast en trois parties, ID4Africa vise à donner la parole au plus large éventail d'opinions sur les risques et les dommages des systèmes d'identification et à entamer un dialogue positif sur la meilleure façon de les rendre responsables et résistants à l’exploitation et aux abus de potentiels acteurs malveillants.

Le 1 décembre nous continuons avec la Partie 2 de notre Trilogie où nous nous engageons dans d'autres conversations constructives autour des risques des systèmes d'identification et leur atténuation.

Ces discussions s'articuleront sur les thèmes majeurs des Risques des Données et de l'Identité dans des contextes fragiles, avec un débat spécial sur les faits et les mythes des systèmes d'identification.

  • Documentaire Explicatif sur “Quand les systèmes d'identification soulèvent des inquiétudes."
  • Évaluation des droits et des risques de 10 systèmes d'identification africains .
  • Présentation sur l'impact de la race et du genre sur les performances biométriques.
  • Panels sur les causes profondes de l'exclusion et comment le surmonter.
HÔTE

Dr Joseph Atick

Président Directeur Général
ID4Africa

Le Dr Joseph Atick est un défenseur reconnu de renommée mondiale et un expert en matière d'identité. Ayant été l'un des fondateurs de l'industrie de l'identité il y a près de 30 ans, il a dirigé plusieurs entreprises dans ce domaine et a développé certains des algorithmes fondamentaux qui sous-tendent aujourd'hui l'identité numérique sécurisée, y compris le premier algorithme de reconnaissance faciale commercialement viable.

Il a pris sa retraite de l'industrie en 2010 pour se concentrer sur la promotion de l'identité pour le développement social et économique dans le monde. Dans cette mission, il s'est associé à la Banque mondiale et à d'autres agences des Nations Unies, et a été fortement impliqué dans le développement et les tests sur le terrain de la méthodologie et des outils analytiques qui allaient guider les activités ultérieures dans ce domaine, et conduire au lancement de l'initiative ID4D à la Banque mondiale.

En 2014, il a co-fondé ID4Africa comme Mouvement Panafricain afin de promouvoir les transformations numériques responsables par le biais de l'identité numérique en Afrique. Il est un fervent défenseur de la vie privée, de la protection des données et des droits de l'homme et il continue de dispenser ses conseils aux gouvernements et organisations internationales sur l'utilisation de l'identité comme bien public. Le Docteur Atick détient un doctorat en physiques mathématiques de l'Université de Stanford.

S1: CONTEXTE
Fiabilité

Prof. Carsten Maple

Professeur d'ingénierie des systèmes informatiques, WMG
Université de Warwick

Professor Carsten Maple est membre de l’Institut Alan Turing, du National Institute for Data Science and AI, Royaume-Uni et Chercheur principal du NCSC-EPSRC Academic Centre of Excellence en cybersécurité à l’Université de Warwick. in Cyber Security Research at the University of Warwick. Il est co-chercheur du Centre national d'excellence PETRAS pour la cybersécurité des systèmes IoT et a une réputation de recherche internationale. Il a publié plus de 250 articles évalués par des pairs et est co-auteur du UK Security Breach Investigations Report (2010) et de Cyberstalking in the UK (2012).
Cybersécurité

Tunde Okunoye

Chercheur affilié, Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society
Université de Harvard

Tunde Okunoye est affilié au Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society à l’Université de Harvard, où il a également été membre de la session académique 2019/2020. Il est également actuellement chercheur de troisième cycle au Département de journalisme, de cinéma et de télévision de l'Université de Johannesburg, où il étudie les expériences vécues par les communautés urbaines marginalisées (habitants des bidonvilles) avec des identifiants biométriques. Il a travaillé pendant 5 ans comme agent de recherche à Paradigm Initiative, une organisation de droits numériques en Afrique, où il s'est concentré sur les aspects de l'identité numérique au Nigeria. En 2018, il était membre de l'African School on Internet Governance et en 2019 associé principal avec le projet Tor.

Identité numérique dérivée

Oscar Okwero

Chercheur en cybersécurité & Analyste en criminalistique numérique
CIPIT

Oscar Okwero est Consultant en cybersécurité et membre du Centre for Intellectual property & Technology Law (CIPIT) à l'Université Strathmore, Kenya. Ses intérêts particuliers portent sur la recherche sur les politiques de cybersécurité en ce qui concerne les opérations d'information et la cyber-guerre. Il a écrit des articles tels que « Effects of Covid-19 pandemic on digital privacy rights », « Drones & digital privacy », « Cyber Bullying, the enablers, methods and controls », « Mis-information & Dis-information, the new fight for cognitive dominance », parmi d'autres. Oscar est titulaire d’un master en sciences de l’Université de Glasgow (Écosse, Royaume-Uni) grâce aux bourses prestigieuses Chevening et d'une licence en informatique de l'Université de Strathmore grâce à une bourse USAID, et est un Hacker Éthique Certifié (CEH).
S2: PLEINS FEUX sur l'Agrégation des données
Une discussion ouverte sur la centralisation, l'interopérabilité et les numéros d'identité uniques - les défis et les compromis.

Jonathan Marskell

Responsable principal de programme
ID4D – World Bank

Jonathan est responsable principal de programme basé à Singapour avec l'initiative transversale Identification for Development (ID4D) du Groupe de la Banque mondiale. Il est chargé de soutenir les projets de financement et d'assistance technique de l'identification numérique et de l'état civil en Afrique, Asie de l'Est et dans le Pacifique, et en Asie du Sud, ainsi que de contribuer au leadership éclairé, à la convocation et au plaidoyer mondial d'ID4D et de sa sœur Numérisation des paiements du Personne à gouvernement (G2Px). Avant de rejoindre ID4D en 2016, il a été consultant pour l'UNESCAP, l'UNICEF, le HCR et l'OIM. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts en économie politique internationale du King's College de Londres et une licence en commerce international de l'Université Macquarie de Sydney. 

Dr. Edgar Whitley

Professeur agrégé (maître de conférences)
London School of Economics & Political Science

Le Dr Edgar Whitley est professeur agrégé (maître de conférences) pour les systèmes d'information à la London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). Il est co-éditeur d'Information Technology and People, rédacteur en chef du Journal of Information Technology et de l'AIS Transactions of Replication Research. Il a été co-président de recherche pour la Conférence européenne sur les systèmes d'information en 1993, 2009 et 2021, co-président de réseau pour la Conférence internationale sur les systèmes d'information en 2003 et 2011. Il était auparavant rédacteur en chef associé pour l'European Journal of Information Systems et MIS Quarterly.

Edgar est membre du conseil consultatif de l'examen Ryder de l'institut Ada Lovelace sur la réglementation biométrique et conseiller expert pour une série de rapports de l'institut Ada Lovelace sur les réponses technologiques au COVID-19. Edgar est coprésident du groupe consultatif sur la protection de la vie privée et les consommateurs (PCAG) auprès du service numérique du gouvernement et de GOV.UK et membre du Conseil d'examen du partage des informations sur la dette et la fraude du Cabinet et de la Loi sur l'économie numérique du Cabinet de 2017 Conseil d'examen de la prestation des services publics, ainsi qu'un membre du Forum national sur la stratégie de données du DCMS. Edgar est également membre du groupe d'experts sur l'identité numérique écossaise du gouvernement écossais et de l'Open Banking Consumer Forum.

Edgar est titulaire d'un BSc (Econ) et d'un doctorat en systèmes d'information, tous deux de la London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).

S3: PLEINS FEUX sur les Exemptions de sécurité nationale.
Les mesures à prendre pour que de telles exemptions - généralement trouvées dans les cadres de protection des données – ne compromettent pas leur intention législative.

Teki Falconer

Fondatrice & Directrice Exécutive
Africa Digital Rights' Hub

Teki Teki Akuetteh Falconer est fondatrice et directrice exécutive de l'Africa Digital Rights’ Hub. Elle a été la première directrice exécutive à mettre en place la Commission de protection des données du Ghana et à faciliter la mise en œuvre de la loi sur la protection des données au Ghana jusqu'à son départ en juillet 2017. Elle est également associée principale chez Nsiah Akuetteh & Co. un cabinet d'avocats basé à Accra, au Ghana qui se spécialise dans le droit des technologies de l'information et des télécommunications en Afrique.

Elle est consultante en protection de la vie privée et des données et avait auparavant travaillé pour le gouvernement du Ghana dans le développement de plusieurs législations clés pour le secteur des TIC, notamment la loi sur la protection des données de 2012 (loi 843), la loi sur les communications électroniques de 2008 (loi 775) et Loi sur les transactions électroniques, 2012 (Loi 772). Elle a travaillé à divers titres avec des organismes régionaux tels que la CEDEAO.

Elle est membre du groupe consultatif mondial sur la protection de la vie privée des Nations Unies, du groupe de travail du rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur la protection de la vie privée sur la confidentialité des données de santé et du comité consultatif de la 40e Conférence internationale des commissaires à la protection des données et à la vie privée.

Elle est titulaire d'un LLM en droit des technologies de l'information et des télécommunications de l'Université de Strathclyde, Glasgow – Écosse, et d'un Master en droit et sciences politiques de l'Université du Ghana (Legon), Accra – Ghana. 

Solomon Okedara

Cofondateur
Digital Rights Lawyers Initiative

Solomon Okedara, avocat et notaire à la Cour suprême du Nigéria, est juriste et chercheur en exercice avec plus de dix (10) ans d'expérience post-appel et une expertise exceptionnelle en droits de l'homme (avec un parti pris particulier pour la liberté d'expression et les droits numériques) , Propriété Intellectuelle, Affaires Internationales et Droit International, ayant un sens de l'excellence hors du commun et dans le but de délivrer des résultats optimaux.

Solomon est avocat spécialisé dans les litiges stratégiques avec un intérêt marqué et une expertise avérée dans les litiges relatifs à la liberté d'expression, aux droits numériques, à la cybercriminalité et aux droits de l'homme. Il a plaidé sur des sujets relatifs aux droits numériques et à la liberté d'expression devant les tribunaux du Nigéria jusqu'à la Cour suprême et il a mené des affaires devant la Cour de la CEDEAO, entre autres. En 2020, il a été reconnu comme l'une des 50 personnalités les plus avancées en matière d'innovations juridiques en Afrique lors des Africa Legal Innovation Awards. Il a également été spécialement reconnu comme finaliste au Global Freedom of Expression Prize 2018 de l'Université de Columbia.

Solomon est actuellement chercheur juridique à l'Université Columbia dans la ville de New York pour le projet Global Freedom of Expression de l'école Ivy-League où il analyse les jugements dérangeant sur des sujets liés à la liberté d'expression couvrant plus de 120 juridictions à travers le monde, y compris les États-Unis, l'Europe, l'Inde et l'Afrique entre autres.

S4: PLEINS FEUX sur l'Identité dans des contextes fragiles
Atténuer les risques et vulnérabilités des systèmes d'identification développés dans des États fragiles ou potentiellement fragiles.

Dr. Emrys Schoemaker

Directeur de Recherche
Caribou Digital

Emrys SCHOEMAKER travaille chez Caribou Digital depuis 2014, menant des recherches sur les systèmes d'identification, les médias numériques et l'utilisation de la technologie numérique dans la vie quotidienne. Ses travaux sur les systèmes d'identification se concentrent sur l'identification de la valeur pour l'utilisateur, l'économie politique des écosystèmes d'identité et les systèmes d'identitité pour les objectifs humanitaires et de développement. M. SCHOEMAKER a mené des recherches sur l'identification numérique en Inde, pour les réfugiés et le secteur humanitaire, et a développé un outil pour cartographier les écosystèmes identitaires. Il conseille actuellement le DFID britannique (département en charge du développement international), mène des recherches pour le Ministère australien des affaires étrangères et du commerce extérieur, et conseille le HCR en matière de stratégie d'identification numérique. 

Dr. José Arraiza

Chercheur en identité juridique et exclusion
UNDP & OHCHR

Le Dr José María Arraiza (Doctorat, Åbo Akademi University) est chercheur indépendant et fait des recherches sur l'identité juridique et l'exclusion pour le groupe de travail sur l'agenda de l'identité juridique des Nations Unies. Il a travaillé sur le terrain pour l'ONU en assurant l'accès des communautés vulnérables aux nouveaux registres civils et électoraux numériques créés au Kosovo (1999-2000) et au Timor oriental (2001) après les deux conflits. Entre 2015 et 2019, il a aidé à mettre en œuvre un projet du Conseil norvégien pour les réfugiés qui a facilité la délivrance d'un demi-million de cartes d'identité officielles aux communautés touchées par le conflit au Myanmar par le biais d'équipes mobiles.

S4: PLEINS FEUX sur Combler le Fossé
Un débat pondéré sur les faits et les mythes des systèmes d'identification.

Bridget Andere

Associée Politique Afrique
Access Now

Bridget est Associée Politique Afrique chez Access Now. Elle est avocate à la Haute Cour du Kenya et a précédemment travaillé dans le secteur privé en tant que plaideuse. Elle est également membre du Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (sections du Royaume-Uni et du Kenya). Bridget est titulaire d’une licence en droit de l'Université de Nairobi. 

Hadiza

Hadiza Ali-Dagabana

Directrice générale des services juridiques, réglementaires et de conformité et secrétaire de la Commission
NIMC

Hadiza Ali Dagabana a rejoint la NIMC (Commission nationale de gestion de l'identité) en 2008 pour y établir le département de réglementation et de conformité. Elle est actuellement Directrice Générale des services juridiques, réglementaires et de conformité, et Secrétaire de la Commission. Mme. DAGABANA a plus de 26 ans d'expérience dans la pratique du droit des sociétés et est un membre actif du Mouvement ID4Africa, Secure Identity Alliance, l’Association du barreau nigérian, la Fédération des femmes juristes et l’International Bar Association. Elle a occupé de nombreuses fonctions juridiques pour le gouvernement nigérian, telles que conseillère principale au Bureau des entreprises publiques et conseillère juridique chez Transcorp. Mme. DAGABANA a effectué des études supérieures poussées et détient des diplômes et des certifications d'un certain nombre d'institutions internationales et régionales.

UN GRAND MERCI À NOTRE PARTENAIRE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Ce LiveCast vous est présenté avec le fier soutien de nos partenaires de développement – ​​la Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Suivez notre journaliste officiel pour des mises à jour fréquentes

Previous episodes:

EP 21: Morocco & Lesotho Reports

EP 20: South Africa & Lesotho Reports

EP 19: Nigeria & Rwanda Reports

LiveCasts précédents

Regardez la rediffusion sur YouTube
Abonnez-vous et appuyez sur la cloche pour les notifications!

Share this LiveCast!

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook

Previous episodes:

EP 21: Morocco & Lesotho Reports

EP 20: South Africa & Lesotho Reports

EP 19: Nigeria & Rwanda Reports

A Positive Dialogue to Combat Negative Outcomes

Digital identity systems are generally accepted as positive tools for social good. Nevertheless, they can pose several dangers and cause significant concerns.

In this 3-Part LiveCast series, ID4Africa aims to give voice to the broadest spectrum of opinions on the risks and harms of ID systems and to start a positive dialogue on how to best guardrail these systems so that they are rendered responsible and resistant to exploitation and abuse from potential nefarious actors.

On Dec 1st we continue with Part 2 of this Trilogy to further engage in constructive conversations around the risks of ID systems and their mitigation.

This set of discussions will focus on major themes of Data Risks and Identity in Fragile Contexts, with a special debate on Facts and Myths of ID systems.

  • An Expository Documentary on “When ID Systems Raise Concerns.”
  • Rights & risks assessment case study of 10 Africa ID systems.
  • A presentation on the impact of race and gender on biometric performance.
  • Multipanel discussions on root causes of exclusion & how to overcome it.
HOST

Dr. Joseph Atick

Executive Chairman
ID4Africa

Dr. Joseph Atick is a recognized world renowned advocate and expert on identity matters. Having been one of the founders of the identity industry nearly 30 years ago, he led several companies in that domain and developed some of the foundational algorithms underlying secure digital identity today, including the first commercially viable face recognition algorithm.

Dr. Atick retired from the industry in 2010 to focus on promoting identity for social and economic development around the world. In that mission he partnered with the World Bank and other UN agencies, and was heavily involved in the development and field testing of the methodology and analytic tools that would guide the subsequent activities in that space, and would lead to the launch of the ID4D initiative at the World Bank.

In 2014, he co-founded ID4Africa as a pan-African Movement to promote responsible digital transformations through digital identity in Africa. He is a staunch defender of privacy, data protection and human rights and continues to provide counsel to governments and international organization on the use of identity for public good. Dr. Atick holds a Ph.D. in Mathematical Physics from Stanford University.

S1: BACKGROUND
Trustworthiness

Prof. Carsten Maple

Professor of Cyber Systems Engineering, WMG
University of Warwick

Professor Carsten Maple is a Fellow of the Alan Turing Institute, the UK’s National Institute for Data Science and AI, and the Principal Investigator of the NCSC-EPSRC Academic Centre of Excellence in Cyber Security Research at the University of Warwick. He is a co-investigator of the PETRAS National Centre of Excellence for IoT Systems Cybersecurity and has an international research reputation. He has published over 250 peer-reviewed papers and is co-author of the UK Security Breach Investigations Report (2010) and Cyberstalking in the UK (2012).
Cybersecurity

Tunde Okunoye

Research Affiliate, Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society
Harvard University

Tunde Okunoye is an Affiliate of the Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University, where he was also a Fellow for the 2019/2020 academic session. He is also currently a postgraduate researcher in the Department of Journalism, Film and Television at the University of Johannesburg where he is researching the lived experiences of marginalized urban communities (slum dwellers) with biometric IDs. He worked for 5 years as Research Officer at Paradigm Initiative, a digital rights organization in Africa, where he focused on aspects of digital identity in Nigeria. In 2018 he was a Fellow of the African School on Internet Governance and in 2019 a Senior Fellow with the Tor Project.  

Derived Digital ID

Oscar Okwero

Cyber Security policy fellow
CIPIT

Oscar Okwero is a Cyber Security consultant & fellow at the Centre for Intellectual property & Technology Law (CIPIT) at the Strathmore University, Kenya. His particular interests are in Cyber Security policy research as pertains Information operations & Cyber warfare. He has written articles such as, “Effects of Covid-19 pandemic on digital privacy rights”, “Drones & digital privacy”, “Cyber Bullying, the enablers, methods and controls”, “Mis-information & dDisinformation, the new fight for cognitive dominance”, among others.  
S2 SPOTLIGHT: Data Aggregation
An open discussion on centralization, interoperability and unique ID numbers – the challenges and the tradeoffs.

Jonathan Marskell

Senior Program Officer
ID4D – World Bank

Jonathan is a Senior Program Officer based in Singapore with the World Bank Group’s cross-cutting Identification for Development (ID4D) initiative. He is responsible for supporting digital ID and civil registration financing and technical assistance projects in Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, and South Asia, as well as contributing to global thought leadership, convening and advocacy of ID4D and its sister Digitizing Government to Person Payments (G2Px) initiative. Before joining the World Bank in 2016, he was a consultant for UNESCAP, UNICEF, UNHCR and IOM. He holds a Master’s degree from King’s College London and Bachelor’s Degree from Macquarie University in Sydney. 

Dr. Edgar Whitley

Associate Professor (Reader)
London School of Economics & Political Science

Dr. Edgar Whitley is Associate Professor (Reader) for Information Systems at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). He is the co-editor of Information Technology and People, Senior Editor for the Journal of Information Technology and the AIS Transactions of Replication Research. He has served as research co-chair for the European Conference on Information Systems in 1993, 2009 and 2021, track co-chair for the International Conference on Information Systems in 2003 and 2011. He was previously an associate editor for the European Journal of Information Systems and MIS Quarterly.

Edgar is an advisory board member for the Ada Lovelace Institute’s Ryder review of Biometric Regulation and an expert advisor for a series of Ada Lovelace Institute reports on technological responses to COVID-19. Edgar is co-chair of the Privacy and Consumer Advisory Group (PCAG) to the Government Digital Service and GOV.UK and a member of the Cabinet Office Digital Economy Act 2017 Debt and Fraud Information Sharing Review Board and the Cabinet Office Digital Economy Act 2017 Public Service Delivery Review Board, as well as a member of the DCMS National Data Strategy Forum. Edgar is also a member of the Scottish Government Digital Identity Scotland Expert Group and the Open Banking Consumer Forum.

Edgar has a BSc (Econ) and PhD in Information Systems, both from London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).

S3 SPOTLIGHT: National Security Exemptions
Measures to ensure that such exemptions – commonly found in data protection frameworks – do not undermine their legislative intent.

Teki Falconer

Founder & Executive Director
Africa Digital Rights' Hub

Teki Akuetteh Falconer is Founder & Executive Director at the Africa Digital Rights’ Hub. She was the first Executive Director to set up the Data Protection Commission of Ghana and facilitate implementation of Ghana’s Data Protection Act until her exit in July 2017. She is also a Senior Partner at Nsiah Akuetteh & Co. a law firm based in Accra, Ghana that specializes in information technology and telecommunication law in Africa.

She is a privacy and data protection consultant and had previously worked for the Government of Ghana in the development of several key legislations for the ICT sector including the Data Protection Act, 2012 (Act 843), Electronic Communications Act, 2008 (Act 775) and Electronic Transactions Act, 2012 (Act 772). She has worked in various capacities with regional bodies such as ECOWAS.

She is a member of the UN Global Pulse Privacy Advisory Group, the UN Special Rapporteur for Privacy Taskforce on Health Data Privacy and the advisory committee for the 40th International Conference of Data Protection and Privacy Commissioners.

She holds an LLM in Information Technology and Telecommunications Law from the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow – Scotland, and a Bachelor of Arts in Law and Political Science from the University of Ghana (Legon), Accra – Ghana. 

Solomon Okedara

Co-Founder
Digital Rights Lawyers Initiative

Solomon Okedara, Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, is a practicing legal practitioner and Researcher with over ten (10) years post-call experience and outstanding expertise in Human Rights (with a special bias for Freedom of Expression & Digital Rights), Intellectual Property, International Business and International Law, having an unusual knack for excellence and with a view to delivering maximal results.

Solomon is a strategic litigation lawyer with a robust interest and proven expertise in Freedom of Expression, Digital Rights, Cybercrimes and Human Rights litigation. He has litigated on Digital Rights and Freedom of Expression subjects in courts across Nigeria up to the Supreme Court and he has conducted cases at the ECOWAS Court among others. In 2020 he was recognized as one of the Top 50 Individuals Leading in Legal Innovations in Africa at the Africa Legal Innovation Awards. He was also specially recognized as a Finalist at the 2018 Global Freedom of Expression Prize of Columbia University.

Solomon currently serves as a Legal Researcher with Columbia University in the city of New York for the ivy-league school’s Global Freedom of Expression project where he analyses judgments bothering on Freedom of Expression subjects covering over 120 jurisdictions across the world including United States, Europe, India, and Africa among others.

S4 SPOTLIGHT: Identity in Fragile Contexts
Mitigating the risks and vulnerabilities of ID systems developed in fragile or potentially fragile states.

Dr. Emrys Schoemaker

Research Director
Caribou Digital

Emrys SCHOEMAKER has been with Caribou Digital since 2014, leading research on identification systems, digital media and the use of digital technology in daily life. His work on ID systems focuses on identifying user value, the political economy of ID ecosystems and ID systems for humanitarian and development goals. He has conducted research on digital identification in India, for refugees and the humanitarian sector, and has developed a tool to map identity ecosystems. He is currently advising the British and Governments DFID, conducting research for the Australian DFAT and advising UNHCR on their digital ID strategy. 

Dr. José Arraiza

Legal Identity and Exclusion Researcher
UNDP & OHCHR

Dr. José María Arraiza (PhD, Åbo Akademi University) is an independent scholar researching on legal identity and exclusion for the UN Legal Identity Agenda Taskforce. He worked at field level for the UN in ensuring vulnerable communities’ access to the new digital civil and voter registries created in Kosovo (1999-2000) and East Timor (2001) after both conflicts. Between 2015 and 2019 he helped to implement a Norwegian Refugee Council project which facilitated the issuance of half a million official identification cards to conflict-affected communities in Myanmar through mobile teams.

S4 SPOTLIGHT: Bridging the Gap
A level-headed debate on the facts & myths of ID systems.

Bridget Andere

Africa Policy Associate
Access Now

Bridget is an Access Now Africa Policy Associate. She is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and has previously worked in the private sector as a litigator. She is also a Member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (UK and Kenya Chapters). Bridget holds an Llb. from the University of Nairobi. 

Hadiza

Hadiza Ali-Dagabana

General Manager of Legal, Regulatory & Compliance Services, and Commission Secretary
NIMC

Hadiza Ali Dagabana joined NIMC in 2008 to establish the Regulatory and Compliance Department. She is currently General Manager for Legal, Regulatory & Compliances Services, and is Secretary to the Commission. Hadiza has over 26 years’ experience in corporate legal practice and is an active Member of the ID4Africa Movement; Secure Identity Alliance; Nigerian Bar Association; Federation of Women Lawyers and the International Bar Association. She has served extensively in legal capacity for the Nigerian government, holding roles such as Senior Counsel at the Bureau of Public Enterprises and Legal Advisor at Transcorp. Hadiza is widely accomplished academically; holding degrees and certification from a number of international and regional institutions.

Special thanks to our Development Partners

This LiveCast is brought to you with the proud support of our development partners – The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Follow our Official Journalist for ongoing updates

Previous episodes:

EP 21: Morocco & Lesotho Reports

EP 20: South Africa & Lesotho Reports

EP 19: Nigeria & Rwanda Reports

Missed our previous LiveCasts?

WATCH THE REPLAY ON YOUTUBE
Subscribe & hit the bell for notifications!