Spotlight on Face Recognition Technology LiveCast Webinar
Spotlight on Face Recognition Technology LiveCast Webinar

A Special LiveCast on Face Recognition Technology

You won't get this kind of info about Face Recognition from anywhere else

Why are we focusing on Face Recognition

L’intérêt pour la technologie de reconnaissance faciale (TRF), en tant que biométrie des systèmes d’identification, s’est accru ces derniers temps. Une nouvelle classe d’algorithmes est apparue à travers l’application de l’apprentissage en profondeur et de l’intelligence artificielle. Elle est considérablement plus robuste et plus extensible que les générations précédentes. Cette nouvelle génération, disponible sur le marché à partir de nombreuses sources, se déploie de manière idéale aussi bien pour 1: (identification et dédoublement) que 1:1 (authentification). En outre, l’intérêt accru pour la biométrie sans contact à la faveur des préoccupations relatives au COVID-19 a porté la demande en TRF à son niveau le plus élevé jamais connu.   

Si cette biométrie est mature, bon marché et performante, elle entraîne des soucis persistants liés à la confidentialité, et à la possibilité de partialité et d’abus. La reconnaissance faciale peut se faire à distance et sans participation ou à l’insu des sujets. C’est aussi la seule biométrie capable de mettre en relation les identités hors ligne et en ligne des personnes (qui foisonnent sur les réseaux sociaux), ce qui représente une grande menace pour le libre arbitre et la confidentialité. 

In this spotlight Face Recognition LiveCast:

* Nous entendrons un exposé liminaire du NIST où en est la TRF aujourd’hui, quelles en sont encore ses limites (par exemple, la partialité potentielle liée au genre et à la race) et à quelle feuille de route technologique s’attendre raisonnablement en extrapolant le progrès récent. 

* Suivront ensuite quatre études cas mettant en exergue comment la TRF a été déployée dans les systèmes d’identification au service du développement. 

* Pour finir, une rubrique spéciale “InConversation” with Teki A. Falconer of Africa Digital Rights’ Hub, Ghana & dans laquelle Pam Dixon, du World Privacy Forum, examinera quels types de cadres de gouvernance juridique et des données sont nécessaires pour la protection contre les abus.

Attendees will have ample opportunities to engage through chat, Q&A and by participating in our Community Voices segment to share added perspectives on Face Recognition.

Le modérateur

joseph-atick-circle

Dr Joseph Atick

Président Directeur Général 
ID4AFRICA

Le Dr Joseph Atick est un défenseur reconnu de renommée mondiale et un expert en matière d'identité. Ayant été l'un des fondateurs de l'industrie de l'identité il y a près de 30 ans, il a dirigé plusieurs entreprises dans ce domaine et a développé certains des algorithmes fondamentaux qui sous-tendent aujourd'hui l'identité numérique sécurisée, y compris le premier algorithme de reconnaissance faciale commercialement viable. Il a pris sa retraite de l'industrie en 2010 pour se concentrer sur la promotion de l'identité pour le développement social et économique dans le monde. Dans cette mission, il s'est associé à la Banque mondiale et à d'autres agences des Nations Unies, et a été fortement impliqué dans le développement et les tests sur le terrain de la méthodologie et des outils analytiques qui allaient guider les activités ultérieures dans ce domaine, et conduire au lancement de l'initiative ID4D à la Banque mondiale. En 2014, le Dr Atick a co-fondé ID4Africa en tant que Mouvement panafricain pour promouvoir des transformations numériques responsables à travers l'identité numérique en Afrique. Il est un ardent défenseur de la vie privée, de la protection des données et des droits de l'homme et continue de conseiller les gouvernements et les organisations internationales sur l'utilisation de l'identité pour le bien public. Le Dr Atick est titulaire d'un doctorat en physique mathématique de l'Université de Stanford.

Orateur Principal

Patrick GROTHER is the keynote speaker for face recognition

Patrick Grother

Chef du projet d’évaluation biométrique, NIST

ÉTUDES DE CAS "RAPID FIRE"

CS1 - ID Numérique

Dr Susanne Kränkl

Responsable produits, innovations
VERIDOS

+ Lire la suite

Le Dr Susanne Kränkl est responsable produit chez Veridos, au département Innovations. Veridos est un leader mondial de solutions d’identification intégrées. Le Dr Kränkl a mené la mise au point de la solution VeriGO® TrueID, une application sécurisée et facile d'utilisation pour smartphone, destinée au renouvellement de documents officiels. Elle est membre de l’organisme allemand de standardisation de la biométrie (DIN-NIA37) et titulaire d’un PhD en physiques obtenu à l’Université de Siegen, en Allemagne.

CS2 - Voyage

Jihad Boueri

Vice- Président, Secteur Aéroportuaires et Compagnies Aériennes
Moyen-Orient, Inde & Afrique SITA

+ Lire la suite

In this role, Jihad he is responsible for the management of SITA’s airport and airline portfolio across the region, from solution design, pricing and bid management and delivery. Jihad brings to the role vast experience from across the Middle East including solution architecture, master system integration and project management. Since joining SITA in 1986, he has worked closely with most airlines and airports in MEIA, developing a strong understanding of the industry and their unique operating environment.  

A Lebanese national, he holds a Master’s Degree in Telecommunication Engineering from St. Joseph University, Beirut, (ESIB) and an MBA from Strathclyde Graduate Business School (SGBS), Scotland. Besides, he holds an ACI-ICAO AMPAP Associate Diploma and an ACI Airport Operation Diploma. Jihad is based in Beirut, Lebanon.

CS3 - ID Nationale

Rahul Parthe

Rahul Parthe

Directeur Technique, Fondateur et Président
TECH5

+ Lire la suite

En tant que Président de TECH5 SA, Rahul Parthe est responsable de la stratégie technologique et des produits TECH5. Rahul fut l'architecte fournisseur clé du service et système biométrique du programme UIDAI, qui a enregistré plus de 1,3 milliard d'identités à ce jour. Il est également l'architecte principal du Système d’Identité National Indonésien, avec 193 millions d'enregistrements tri-modaux. Les autres sociétés clés sont Identix, L1 Identity Solutions, Securimetrics, Morpho et InterBio.

CS4 - Élections

Matus Kapusta

Chef, Solutions Gouvernementales
Innovatrics

+ Lire la suite

En sa qualité de Chef des solutions gouvernementales chez Innovatrics, Matus Kapusta est à la tête d’une équipe de responsables de projet, d’ingénieurs de livraison et de soutien. Parmi les réalisations importantes à son actif figurent la livraison de plus de 30 projets ABIS de grande envergure destinés aux élections, aux registres nationaux, aux contrôles des frontières, ou encore aux forces de maintien de l’ordre. Font partie des plus grands projets en cours le projet ABIS pour INAFIS en Indonésie, avec plus de 180 millions de personnes inscrites, combinant les fichiers civils et pénaux ainsi que l’AFIS pour le contrôle des frontières nationales au Moyen-Orient, caractérisées par la circulation de 100 mille passagers par jour impliquant plus de 60 millions d’inscrits.

Cela fait plus de 10 ans que Matus a rejoint Innovatrics, qui n’était alors qu’une jeune entreprise en biométrie employant une douzaine de personnes, axée sur la reconnaissance par empreintes digitales. Matus avait pour attribution de mener la conception et le développement d'Innovatrics ABIS - le produit phare d'Innovatrics. Depuis lors, la startup a évolué pour devenir une entreprise de rang mondial disposant d’un effectif de plus de cent professionnels, détentrice d’un large portefeuille de produits et de technologies axées sur la reconnaissance rapide d'empreintes digitales, faciale et par l’iris.

In Conversation with...

Pam DIXON

Pam Dixon

Directrice Exécutive 
World Privacy Forum

+ Lire la suite

Teki Falconer

Teki A. FALCONER

Fondatrice et Directrice Exécutive 
Africa Digital Rights’ Hub, Ghana

+ Lire la suite

Teki Akuetteh FALCONER est la fondatrice et directrice exécutive du Africa Digital Rights Hub (un groupe de réflexion sans but lucratif qui promeut les droits numériques en Afrique), qui est l'animateur du Sommet sur la protection des données en Afrique et qui développe également un code de protection des données de pratique pour l'identification et l'adressage numériques en Afrique. Elle a facilité l'élaboration de plus de 11 législations pour le secteur des TIC au Ghana entre 2008 et 2012 et a été la première directrice exécutive de la Commission ghanéenne de la protection des données.

Partenaires Médias

Suivez notre journaliste officiel pour des mises à jour fréquentes

Partenaires promotionnels

Date et heure: 3 septembre, 14h30 - 16h30 CET

Traduction simultanée fournie (Anglais-Français)

(L'espace est limité)

Avez-vous manqué nos précédents LiveCasts?

Regardez la rediffusion sur YouTube

Abonnez-vous et appuyez sur la cloche pour les notifications!

Spotlight on Face Recognition Technology LiveCast Webinar
Spotlight on Face Recognition Technology LiveCast Webinar

A Special LiveCast on Face Recognition Technology

You won't get this kind of info about Face Recognition from anywhere else

Why are we focusing on Face Recognition

The interest in Face Recognition Technology (FRT) as a biometric for identity systems has grown significantly in recent times. A new class of algorithms has emerged through the application of deep learning and artificial intelligence, and is considerably more robust and scalable than prior generations. This new generation, which is available from many sources on the marketplace,  is ideal  for 1:Many (identification and deduplication) as well as  1:1 (authentication) deployments. Furthermore, the increased interest in touchless biometrics as a result of COVID-19 related concerns, has pushed the demand for  FRT to an all-time high.   

While this biometric is mature, affordable and performant, it comes with some lingering  concerns related to privacy, potential bias and abuse. FR can be done from a distance and without participation or knowledge of the subjects. It is also the only biometric  capable of linking the offline to the online personas of people (abundantly available through social media), which could represent a major threat to free will and privacy. 

In this spotlight Face Recognition LiveCast:

* We will hear a keynote presentation from NIST about where FRT is today, what limitations it still has (e.g. potential bias related to gender and race) and what technological roadmap can be reasonably expected by extrapolating recent progress. 

* Followed by four case studies that highlight how FRT has been deployed in identity systems in the service of development. 

* And finally, a special “In Conversation” segment with Teki A. Falconer of Africa Digital Rights’ Hub, Ghana & Pam Dixon of World Privacy Forum to examine what type of legal and data governance frameworks are needed to protect against abuse.

Attendees will have ample opportunities to engage through chat, Q&A and by participating in our Community Voices segment to share added perspectives on Face Recognition.

The Moderator

joseph-atick-circle

Dr. Joseph Atick

Executive Chairman 
ID4AFRICA

Dr. Joseph Atick is a recognized world renowned advocate and expert on identity matters. Having been one of the founders of the identity industry nearly 30 years ago, he led several companies in that domain and developed some of the foundational algorithms underlying secure digital identity today, including the first commercially viable face recognition algorithm. He retired from the industry in 2010 to focus on promoting identity for social and economic development around the world. In that mission he partnered with the World Bank and other UN agencies, and was heavily involved in the development and field testing of the methodology and analytic tools that would guide the subsequent activities in that space, and would lead to the launch of the ID4D initiative at the World Bank. In 2014, he co-founded ID4Africa as a pan-African Movement to promote responsible digital transformations through digital identity in Africa. He is a staunch defender of privacy, data protection and human rights and continues to provide counsel to governments and international organization on the use of identity for public good. Dr. Atick holds a Ph.D. in Mathematical Physics from Stanford University.

Keynote Speaker

Patrick GROTHER is the keynote speaker for face recognition

Patrick Grother

Head of Biometric Evaluation Program, NIST

RAPID FIRE CASE STUDIES

CS1 - Digital ID

Dr. Susanne Kränkl

Product Manager, Innovations
VERIDOS

[expand title=”Read Bio”]

Dr. Susanne Kränkl is a Product Manager at Veridos, in the Innovations department. Veridos is a world-leading provider of integrated identity solutions. Dr. Kränkl led the development of the VeriGO® TrueID solution, a secure and user-friendly smartphone application for the renewal of official documents. She is a member of the German standardization body on Biometrics (DIN-NIA37)and holds a PhD in Physics from the University of Siegen, Germany.[/expand]

CS2 - Travel

Jihad Boueri

Vice President, Airports & Airlines Sector
Middle East, India & Africa, SITA

[expand title=”Read Bio”]

In this role, Jihad he is responsible for the management of SITA’s airport and airline portfolio across the region, from solution design, pricing and bid management and delivery. Jihad brings to the role vast experience from across the Middle East including solution architecture, master system integration and project management. Since joining SITA in 1986, he has worked closely with most airlines and airports in MEIA, developing a strong understanding of the industry and their unique operating environment.  

A Lebanese national, he holds a Master’s Degree in Telecommunication Engineering from St. Joseph University, Beirut, (ESIB) and an MBA from Strathclyde Graduate Business School (SGBS), Scotland. Besides, he holds an ACI-ICAO AMPAP Associate Diploma and an ACI Airport Operation Diploma. Jihad is based in Beirut, Lebanon.[/expand]

CS3 - National ID

Rahul Parthe

Rahul Parthe

CTO, Founder & Chairman
TECH5

[expand title=”Read Bio”]

Chairman of TECH5 SA, Rahul Parthe oversees TECH5 product and technology strategy. Rahul was the key system biometric service provider architect of UIDAI program which has enrolled more than 1.3B identities till date. He is also the lead architect for Indonesia National ID that now holds 193 million tri-modal enrollments. Other key organizations include, Identix, L1 Identity Solutions, Securimetrics, Morpho and InterBio.[/expand]

CS4 - Elections

Matus Kapusta

Head, Government Solutions
Innovatrics

[expand title=”Read Bio”]

As Head of Government Solutions at Innovatrics, Matus Kapusta currently manages a team of project managers, delivery and support engineers. Some of the notable accomplishments under his belt are the delivery of more than 30 large-scale ABIS projects for elections, national registries, border control, or law-enforcement agencies. Among the largest ongoing projects are ABIS for INAFIS Indonesia with more than 180 million people enrolled, combining civil and criminal records, and AFIS for nation-wide border control in the Middle East with traffic of more than 100 thousand daily passengers involving more than 60 million enrollees.

It has been more than 10 years since Matus joined Innovarics, then a young biometrics company of a dozen people, focused on fingerprint recognition. Matus’ responsibility was to lead the design and development of Innovatrics ABIS – the flagship product of Innovatrics. Since then, the company has grown from startup to a global company of more than one hundred professionals, having a wide portfolio of products and technologies focused on fast fingerprint, face and iris recognition.[/expand]

In Conversation with...

Pam DIXON

Pam Dixon

Executive Director 
World Privacy Forum

[expand title=”Read Bio”]

[/expand]

Teki Falconer

Teki A. FALCONER

Founder & Executive Director 
Africa Digital Rights’ Hub, Ghana

[expand title=”Read Bio”]

Teki Akuetteh FALCONER is the Founder and Executive Director of the Africa Digital Rights Hub (a not-for-profit think tank that promotes digital rights across Africa), which is the facilitator of the Data Protection Africa Summit, and is also developing a Data Protection Code of Practice for Digital ID and addressing for Africa. She facilitated the development of more than 11 legislations for the ICT sector in Ghana between 2008 and 2012, and was the first Executive Director of Ghana’s Data Protection Commission.   

[/expand]

Media Partners

Follow our Official Journalist for ongoing updates

Promotional Partners

Date & Time: September 3rd, 14:30-16:30 CET (Paris Time)

[Language: English-French]

(Space is Limited)

Missed Our Previous LiveCasts?

WATCH THE REPLAY ON YOUTUBE

Subscribe & hit the bell for notifications!