Partagez ce LiveCast !

Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur facebook
Facebook

Un dialogue positif pour combattre des résultats négatifs

Les systèmes d’identité numérique sont généralement acceptés comme des outils positifs pour le bien social. Néanmoins, ils peuvent présenter plusieurs dangers et soulever d’importantes préoccupations.

Dans cette série LiveCast en trois parties, ID4Africa vise à donner la parole au plus large éventail d'opinions sur les risques et les dommages des systèmes d'identification et à entamer un dialogue positif sur la meilleure façon de les rendre responsables et résistants à l’exploitation et aux abus de potentiels acteurs malveillants.

On Dec 15th we conclude this season’s most talked about Trilogy series with an exploration of strategies, best practices, and promising innovations that will enable responsible ID systems by design.

  • Documentaire Explicatif sur “Quand les systèmes d'identification soulèvent des inquiétudes."
  • Évaluation des droits et des risques de 10 systèmes d'identification africains .
  • Présentation sur l'impact de la race et du genre sur les performances biométriques.
  • Panels sur les causes profondes de l'exclusion et comment le surmonter.
  • Extraits d'interview avec Sir Mark Lowcock, Ancien Secrétaire Général Adjoint des Nations Unies
  • Présentations approfondies sur la fiabilité, la cybersécurité et l'identité numérique dérivée (DDI) des systèmes de données.
  • Discussions sur les risques liés aux données, l'identité dans des contextes fragiles et les exemptions de sécurité nationale.
  • Débat sur les faits & les mythes des systèmes d'identité
HÔTE

Dr Joseph Atick

Président Directeur Général
ID4Africa

Le Dr Joseph Atick est un défenseur reconnu de renommée mondiale et un expert en matière d'identité. Ayant été l'un des fondateurs de l'industrie de l'identité il y a près de 30 ans, il a dirigé plusieurs entreprises dans ce domaine et a développé certains des algorithmes fondamentaux qui sous-tendent aujourd'hui l'identité numérique sécurisée, y compris le premier algorithme de reconnaissance faciale commercialement viable.

Il a pris sa retraite de l'industrie en 2010 pour se concentrer sur la promotion de l'identité pour le développement social et économique dans le monde. Dans cette mission, il s'est associé à la Banque mondiale et à d'autres agences des Nations Unies, et a été fortement impliqué dans le développement et les tests sur le terrain de la méthodologie et des outils analytiques qui allaient guider les activités ultérieures dans ce domaine, et conduire au lancement de l'initiative ID4D à la Banque mondiale.

En 2014, il a co-fondé ID4Africa comme Mouvement Panafricain afin de promouvoir les transformations numériques responsables par le biais de l'identité numérique en Afrique. Il est un fervent défenseur de la vie privée, de la protection des données et des droits de l'homme et il continue de dispenser ses conseils aux gouvernements et organisations internationales sur l'utilisation de l'identité comme bien public. Le Docteur Atick détient un doctorat en physiques mathématiques de l'Université de Stanford.

S1: TO-THE-POINT
Pratiques de conception responsable dans les systèmes d’ID

Sanjay Jain

Président Fondateur,
Conseil Technologique
MOSIP

Sanjay Jain est le Président Fondateur du Conseil Technologique de la plate-forme modulaire d'identité open source - MOSIP - qui aide les organisations d'utilisateurs telles que les gouvernements à mettre en œuvre un identifiant numérique fondamental de manière rentable, tout en adoptant les meilleures pratiques d'évolutivité, de sécurité et confidentialité en exploitant la puissance de l'open source. 

Sanjay est également partenaire du Bharat Innovation Fund, qui investit dans des entreprises à un stade précoce, axées sur la propriété intellectuelle. Le Bharat Innovation Fund est associé au Center for Innovation, Incubation & Entrepreneurship (CIIE) de l'IIM Ahmedabad. Il dirige les efforts de la Bharat Inclusion Initiative pour amener plus de personnes dans l'économie formelle et la main-d'œuvre en Inde. 

S2: PRÉSENTATION LIMINAIRE
Un aperçu de l’identité numérique en Europe
Philippe Jung

Philippe Jung

Directeur, Business Line Digital Identity
IN Groupe

En tant que Directeur de la Business Line Digital Identity chez IN Groupe, Philippe est en charge des différentes lignes de produits proposant des solutions permettant de vérifier de façon automatisé l'identité d’une personne à partir d’un document d'identité physique ainsi que des solutions d’identité digitale et les services associés.

Philippe possède plus de 17 ans d’expérience internationale dans des domaines technologiques. Après avoir travaillé chez Oberthur technologies, Il a rejoint IN Groupe il y a 7 ans pour accompagner la croissance du groupe sur le marché de l'identité. Philippe est titulaire d'un diplôme d’ingénieur de l'INSA et d'un mastère de l'EM Lyon.

S3: PRÉSENTATION LIMINAIRE
Considérations relatives aux politiques et à la conception des données pour le développement

James Eaton-Lee

Directeur, Confidentialité, Données Responsables & Risques
SIMPRINTS

James est Directeur de la confidentialité, des données responsables et des risques chez Simprints, une organisation à but non lucratif visant à augmenter radicalement l'efficacité du développement mondial à l'aide de la technologie et qui construit une technologie biométrique pour les contextes du dernier kilomètre. Avant Simprints, James a dirigé les équipes de sécurité de l'information et de confidentialité de la filiale GB d'Oxfam et du secrétariat international pendant quatre ans et demi. Il a plus de quinze ans d'expérience dans la cybersécurité et la confidentialité, travaillant pendant près d'une décennie en tant que consultant en cybersécurité dans divers pays et secteurs.

Jennifer Walker

Responsable Produit
SIMPRINTS

Jennifer est Responsable Produit chez Simprints. Elle s'assure que le travail livré est aligné sur les objectifs de l'entreprise et mobilise l'équipe d'ingénierie pour traduire cette vision en réalité. Avant Simprints, elle a consulté un certain nombre de petites OSC/ONG au Cap, les aidant à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre des programmes de collecte de données de manière responsable et éthique, ainsi qu'à libérer le potentiel des données collectées. Jennifer est profondément intéressée par le rôle que la technologie peut jouer dans la promotion du bien social et la réduction des inégalités dans le monde, mais comprend que la technologie est un outil et non la solution.

S4: IN FOCUS
Des pratiques de données responsables comme moteurs de l’économie numérique en Afrique

Gbenga Odegbami

Co-founder/CEO
Youverify Inc.

Gbenga has more than 12 Years working experience building and running technology-led businesses. Some of the companies he worked for include, Siemens, Dimension Data, Acuative, Weco Systems and CWG. He was responsible for several successful business and technology initiatives, some most notable engagements involved MTN, Access Bank, NLNG, NNPC, CBN, FIRS, Ecobank, NUC, BrassLNG among others.

Gbenga has a DBA from Paris School of Business, Paris, MBA from Warwick Business School, UK and BSc in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Lagos. Gbenga research focus is innovation and organisational change in Africa.

S5: FLASH INNOVATION

Protéger le modèle biométrique

Décentralisation

Frances Zelazny

Cofondatrice & PDG
Anonybit

Frances est une stratège marketing chevronnée et une professionnelle du développement commercial avec plus de 25 ans d'expérience avec des start-up et des scale-up, principalement axée sur la biométrie et l'identité numérique, les technologies financières, les données et l'analyse et la cybersécurité. 

Elle a dirigé des équipes de marketing et de stratégie chez L-1 Identity Solutions, MyCheck, BioCatch et, plus récemment, Signals Analytics, et a dirigé son propre cabinet de conseil aux entreprises où elle a fourni une expertise en biométrie et systèmes d'identification aux entreprises à croissance rapide. Elle a beaucoup travaillé avec des cadres supérieurs sur l'élaboration de plans de développement, mené des études de marché indépendantes et des évaluations concurrentielles et dirigé des programmes de politique publique et d'affaires publiques. Frances a également servi le gouvernement et des organisations multilatérales dans la promotion des meilleures pratiques biométriques pour le développement social et économique et a été un ardent défenseur de la vie privée des consommateurs et de l'utilisation responsable de la biométrie. Elle dirige actuellement une nouvelle entreprise appelée Anonybit, qui fournit une infrastructure révolutionnaire pour la décentralisation de la technologie biométrique. 

Frances est titulaire d’une licence en sciences politiques de l’Université Hofstra et d’un master en affaires internationales de la New York University. 

Remplaçabilité

Dr. Norman Poh

Directeur Scientifique
Trust Stamp

Dr. Norman Poh is CSO at Trust Stamp. He currently provides technical leadership to accelerate Trust Stamp’s growth around privacy-preserving biometrics, improving its products and services which focus on identity management addressing KYC/AML issues. Previously, he held two data science roles in two distinctive sectors, namely, financial forecasting within an oil and gas industry, and the healthcare sector. He received his PhD in multimodal biometric fusion and machine learning in 2006 from EPFL, Switzerland et is currently an Affiliate Associate Professor at the University of Malta. 

UN GRAND MERCI À NOTRE PARTENAIRE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT

Ce LiveCast vous est présenté avec le fier soutien de nos partenaires de développement – ​​la Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Suivez notre journaliste officiel pour des mises à jour fréquentes

LiveCasts précédents

Regardez la rediffusion sur YouTube
Abonnez-vous et appuyez sur la cloche pour les notifications!

Share this LiveCast!

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook

A Positive Dialogue to Combat Negative Outcomes

Digital identity systems are generally accepted as positive tools for social good. Nevertheless, they can pose several dangers and cause significant concerns.

In this 3-Part LiveCast series, ID4Africa aims to give voice to the broadest spectrum of opinions on the risks and harms of ID systems and to start a positive dialogue on how to best guardrail these systems so that they are rendered responsible and resistant to exploitation and abuse from potential nefarious actors.

On Dec 15th we conclude this season’s most talked about Trilogy series with an exploration of strategies, best practices, and promising innovations that will enable responsible ID systems by design.

  • An Expository Documentary on “When ID Systems Raise Concerns.”
  • Rights & risks assessment case study of 10 Africa ID systems.
  • A presentation on the impact of race and gender on biometric performance.
  • Multipanel discussions on root causes of exclusion & how to overcome it.
  • Interview excerpts from Sir Mark Lowcock, Former UN Under-Secretary-General.
  • In-depth presentations on the trustworthiness, cybersecurity & derived digital identity (DDI)  of data systems.
  • Discussions on data risks, identity in fragile contexts & national security exemptions.
  • Debate on facts & myths of ID systems.
HOST

Dr. Joseph Atick

Executive Chairman
ID4Africa

Dr. Joseph Atick is a recognized world renowned advocate and expert on identity matters. Having been one of the founders of the identity industry nearly 30 years ago, he led several companies in that domain and developed some of the foundational algorithms underlying secure digital identity today, including the first commercially viable face recognition algorithm.

Dr. Atick retired from the industry in 2010 to focus on promoting identity for social and economic development around the world. In that mission he partnered with the World Bank and other UN agencies, and was heavily involved in the development and field testing of the methodology and analytic tools that would guide the subsequent activities in that space, and would lead to the launch of the ID4D initiative at the World Bank.

In 2014, he co-founded ID4Africa as a pan-African Movement to promote responsible digital transformations through digital identity in Africa. He is a staunch defender of privacy, data protection and human rights and continues to provide counsel to governments and international organization on the use of identity for public good. Dr. Atick holds a Ph.D. in Mathematical Physics from Stanford University.

S1: TO-THE-POINT
Responsible Design Practices in ID Systems

Sanjay Jain

Founding Chairman,
Technology Board
MOSIP

Sanjay Jain is the founding chair of the Technology Board, for the Modular Open Source Identity Platform – MOSIP – that helps user organizations such as Governments implement a digital, foundational ID in a cost effective way, while embracing the best practices of scalability, security and privacy harnessing the power of open source. 

Sanjay is also a partner at the Bharat Innovation Fund, which invests in early stage, IP driven companies. The Bharat Innovation Fund is associated with the Center for Innovation, Incubation & Entrepreneurship (CIIE) at IIM Ahmedabad. He leads the efforts at the Bharat Inclusion Initiative to bring more people into the formal economy, and workforce in India. 

S2: KEYNOTE PRESENTATION
A Glimpse at Digital ID in Europe
Philippe Jung

Philippe Jung

Director, Digital Identity Business Line
IN Groupe

As Director of the Digital Identity Business Line at IN Groupe, Philippe is in charge of the various product lines offering solutions to automatically verify the identity of a person from a physical identity document as well as digital identity solutions and associated services.

Philippe has more than 17 years of international experience in technological fields. After working at Oberthur technologies, he joined IN Groupe 7 years ago to support the group’s growth in the identity market. Philippe holds an engineering degree from INSA and a master’s degree from EM Lyon. 

S3: KEYNOTE PRESENTATION
Policy and design considerations for data for development

James Eaton-Lee

Director, Privacy, Responsible Data & Risks
SIMPRINTS

James is Director of Privacy, Responsible Data, and Risk at Simprints, a non-profit aiming to radically increase the effectiveness of global development using technology, and which builds biometric technology for last mile contexts. Prior to Simprints, James ran the Information Security and Privacy teams at Oxfam’s GB affiliate and International Secretariat for four and a half years. He has over fifteen years of experience in cybersecurity and privacy, working for almost a decade as a cybersecurity consultant across a range of countries and sectors. 

Jennifer Walker

Product Manager
SIMPRINTS

Jennifer is a Product Manager at Simprints. She ensures that work delivered is aligned to business objectives and rallies the engineering team to translate that vision into reality. Prior to Simprints, she consulted to a number of small CSO/NGOs in Cape Town, helping them design and implement data collection programmes in a responsible and ethical manner, as well as unlock potential from data being collected. Jennifer is deeply interested in the role technology can play in driving social good and reducing inequality in the world, yet understands that technology is a tool and not the solution. 

S4: IN FOCUS
Responsible data practices as drivers of digital economy in Africa

Gbenga Odegbami

Co-founder/CEO
Youverify Inc.

Gbenga has more than 12 Years working experience building and running technology-led businesses. Some of the companies he worked for include, Siemens, Dimension Data, Acuative, Weco Systems and CWG. He was responsible for several successful business and technology initiatives, some most notable engagements involved MTN, Access Bank, NLNG, NNPC, CBN, FIRS, Ecobank, NUC, BrassLNG among others.

Gbenga has a DBA from Paris School of Business, Paris, MBA from Warwick Business School, UK and BSc in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Lagos. Gbenga research focus is innovation and organisational change in Africa.

S5: INNOVATION FLASH

Protecting the biometric template

Decentralization

Frances Zelazny

Co-Founder & CEO
Anonybit

Frances is a seasoned marketing strategist and business development professional with over 25 years of experience with start-up and scale-up companies, primarily focused on biometrics and digital identity, fintech, data and analytics and cybersecurity. 

Frances has led marketing and strategy teams at L-1 Identity Solutions, MyCheck, BioCatch and most recently, Signals Analytics, and has run her own business consultancy where she provided expertise in biometrics and identification systems to growth companies. She has worked extensively with C-level executives on the development of business plans, conducted independent market research and competitive assessments and directed public policy and public affairs programs. Frances has also served government and multilateral organizations in promoting biometrics best practices for social and economic development and has been an outspoken advocate for consumer privacy and the responsible use of biometrics. She is currently leading a new venture called Anonybit, which provides a ground-breaking infrastructure for decentralizing biometric technology. 

Frances has a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science from Hofstra University and a Master’s Degree in International Affairs from New York University. 

Replaceabiltiy

Dr. Norman Poh

Chief Scientific Officer
Trust Stamp

Dr. Norman Poh is CSO at Trust Stamp. He currently provides technical leadership to accelerate Trust Stamp’s growth around privacy-preserving biometrics, improving its products and services which focus on identity management addressing KYC/AML issues. Previously, he held two data science roles in two distinctive sectors, namely, financial forecasting within an oil and gas industry, and the healthcare sector. He received his PhD in multimodal biometric fusion and machine learning in 2006 from EPFL, Switzerland and is currently an Affiliate Associate Professor at the University of Malta. 

Special thanks to our Development Partners

This LiveCast is brought to you with the proud support of our development partners – The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Follow our Official Journalist for ongoing updates

Missed our previous LiveCasts?

WATCH THE REPLAY ON YOUTUBE
Subscribe & hit the bell for notifications!